The Beauty In Fear

Fear and I have a love-hate relationship. At times I find her to be very comforting. I have often allowed her to purposefully stand in the way of my success. As Marianne Williamson said, “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate, Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.”

I have the potential to be great but I fear expectation. The greater I am the more that will be asked of me. In my heart writing is my one true love. I have had the pleasure of expressing myself through spoken word, blogging, and my own column. Yet at the height of my success I walked away. Fear consumed me. The fear of success was too much to bear.

I know my talent would be a beautiful career in the near future. The beauty in fear is the way it protects you and makes you feel secure. It is so beautiful to lie at someone else’s feet rather than resting your feet on a pedestal.

Yet I know in my heart fear and I cannot carry on our love affair. For I have to lead by example for my daughter. It is time to take a risk and step out on faith. Time to believe in me and my talent.

4 thoughts on “The Beauty In Fear

  1. We have conquer our fears and step on faith. Trust me I’m no pro…I’m a work in progress. We have to understand that God has our back!!

  2. I also have the potential to be great but I fear expectation.The greater I am the more that will be asked of me.In my heart writing is my one true love.I know that my talent would be a beautiful career in the future.
    Wow! My very sentiments!!!
    Well,I faced a fear today;I realized that we can overcome it by visualizing the rewards of overcoming it.

Leave a Reply

